Match Details 

Australia vs India, 1st T20

November 21, 2018, 1:20 PM IST 

The Gabba, Brisbane 


The Gabba in Brisbane is one of the oldest grounds in Australia and in fact, was the first Australian ground to host a T20l. However, including that first game, it has hosted just 3 T20s with the last one coming back in 2013. 

The surface at the Gabba is one of the quickest in Australia. While the bowlers get some good bounce and carry, the batsmen should enjoy the ball coming onto the bat nicely. In fact, in the three T20|s that have been played here, the average score batting first is 185, which indicates this is a high scoring ground. 

The weather is also expected to hold good as India kickstart their two-month long tour. 


India‘s much-anticipated tour to Australia is all set to kick-off as they begin their two-month long sojourn with a three-match T20! series. 

India goes into the series as firm favourites. They‘ve been in excellent form in the shortest format. In fact, in 2018, they’ve lost only three T20ls. For the first time, India have an excellent chance to win all three series' Down Under. India have opted to go in with the fullstrength team for the T20l series despite a big Test series following it. 

On the other hand, Australia have rested their frontline pacers keeping the Test series in mind. After starting the year on an excellent note (winning the TransTasmanian T20 tri-series), things have just gone downhill for the Aussies. They recently were whitewashed 0-3 by Pakistan and lost to South Africa in the only T20l last week. Thus, they haven't been in the best of forms but they would like to end the limited-overs year with a win. 

Probable Playing XI 


Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Ben McDermott/Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Billy Stanlake 


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed 


In the limited opportunities he's got, Dinesh Karthik has done really well. In 2018, he’s played 11 innings and has been dismissed just twice. He’s looked in good touch and will be eager to prove himself and seal the second wicket-keeper’s slot. 


Rohit Sharma has been in sublime form in limitedovers cricket this year. In fact, he has already scored two T20| hundreds in 2018. KL Rahul also has been a constant member of this Indian T20I side. On the other hand, Australia’s batting will heavily depend on skipper Aaron Finch and his opening partner Chris Lynn. The duo will look to give Australia a flying start at the top of the order. 

Alternative: Rishabh Pant for KL Rahul


In the absence of his brother Hardik, Krunal Pandya is going to be crucial in this team. He will provide that balance and look to contribute in all three departments. Glenn Maxwell was the standout performer in the lone T20 against South Africa and will look to continue that good form. 

Alternative: Marcus Stoinis for Maxwell BOWL 

Jasprit Bumrah and Kuldeep Yadav have been India's best limited-overs bowlers over the last year and a half. They will continue to be key bowlers for the 'Men in Blue’. Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye have been excellent for Australia in the shortest format. They are among the top three wicket-takers in T20 this year. 

Captain: Rohit Sharma 

Vice-captain: Jasprit Bumrah 

Player to watch out for: Kuldeep Yadav 

This is Kuldeep Yadav's first game in Australia and it will be a test for him. However, the same was said earlier in England but he was simply outstanding. This year, he has already picked up 17 wickets in 6 T20. Hence, Australia will need to be wary of the chinaman. 

Our dream 11 team AUS VS IND 

No comments

England vs Bangladesh: ODI Records at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

England vs Bangladesh: ODI Records at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff  close(x) Sop...